What Should You Know about Degaussing Hard Drives?
We all think that after pressing the delete button, the data go to the recycle bin. The data is deleted permanently but it is not entirely true. If you delete a file superficially, the direction of the computer to the file is actually disappeared. Though the computer cannot find the data anymore, it still contains sensitive data. You may want to buy a new hard drive and throw out the old drives. But before doing that, do not forget about degaussing hard drives. If you do not delete the data permanently, then you may face problems someday. Can You Delete Data Permanently? You can always delete sensitive data permanently. But all you have to do is use a hard drive degausser. The device uses the power of magnets and deletes the data. According to The National Security Agency (NSA), you should always physically destroy the hard drives after degaussing. What Is Degaussing Hard Drives? The permanent delete process of data is called Degaussing. The process is known as sanitiz...